Skip to content Skip to navigation

Nominations Open for SAGE-CASBS Award

Kenneth Prewitt

2015 SAGE-CASBS Award winner Kenneth Prewitt with Margaret Levi (left) and Sara Miller McCune

Sep 14 2016

Posted In:


The Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences (CASBS) at Stanford University and SAGE Publishing now are accepting nominations for the 2017 SAGE-CASBS Award.

View the official press release here

The Award

Established in 2013, the SAGE-CASBS Award recognizes outstanding achievement in the behavioral and social sciences that advance our understanding of pressing social issues. The award underscores the role of the social and behavioral sciences in enriching and enhancing public policy and good governance.

“Research conducted in the social and behavioral sciences has the unique capacity to improve the human condition in a way that other sciences cannot,” noted SAGE founder and executive chairman Sara Miller McCune and CASBS director Margaret Levi in a joint statement. “Social and behavioral scientists deserve to be recognized for the important impact of their work. SAGE and CASBS are delighted to jointly present an award that honors and celebrates knowledge that has the ability to inform public discourse and, ultimately, make the world a better place.”

In 2017 we will recognize the fourth winner of the award. The inaugural recipient was psychologist Daniel Kahneman, 2002 Nobel laureate in economic sciences and author of the acclaimed book, Thinking, Fast and Slow (2011). The other two winners were Pedro Noguera, the sociologist, education rights activist, and Peter L. Agnew Professor of Education at New York University; and Kenneth Prewitt, former Director of the U.S. Census Bureau and the Carnegie Professor of Public Affairs at Columbia University.

Kahneman, incidentally, was a CASBS fellow in 1977-78, while Prewitt was a CASBS fellow in 1983-84.

In addition to a cash prize, the SAGE-CASBS Award winner will deliver a public lecture to be held at CASBS in spring/summer 2017. The exact date and details about the lecture will be announced in early 2017.


CASBS and SAGE seek nominees who represent the best of contemporary social science, who demonstrate sustained passion in their efforts to transform research, and whose work has positive impact on society as a whole.

Nominees must be distinguished academics and researchers in the social and behavioral sciences with a proven record of research and influence. The nominees can come from any part of the world and from any of the social and behavioral science fields, but the committee particularly values those whose contributions cross several disciplines. Of most importance is that the nominee’s work has transformative consequences for a significant arena of social, political, or economic life.

The Nomination Process

Access and submit the online nomination form on the CASBS web site: The deadline for nominations is November 30, 2016. Please note that no self-nominations will be accepted.

The selection committee, co-chaired by Sara Miller McCune and Margaret Levi, will consist of three additional members. After an extensive review process, the committee will announce the SAGE-CASBS Award winner in February 2017.

The Institutions

Founded 50 years ago by Sara Miller McCune to support the dissemination of usable knowledge and educate a global community, SAGE publishes more than 850 journals and over 800 new books each year, spanning a wide range of subject areas. A growing selection of library products includes archives, data and video. SAGE remains majority owned by its founder, and after her lifetime it will become owned by a charitable trust that secures the company’s continued independence. Principal offices are located in Los Angeles, London, New Delhi, Singapore and Washington DC.

Founded in 1954, the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences (CASBS) at Stanford University is renowned as a place where great minds come together to confront the problems of the day – a place where original, interdisciplinary thinking is the norm. CASBS has hosted generations of distinguished scholars and scientists who, in the spirit of collaboration, form an enduring community that advances our knowledge and changes the way we understand the world.