Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation
Margaret Levi
Main content start

Margaret Levi

Stanford University

Fellowship year

1994 - University of Washington - Study 31

Faculty Fellow year

2024 - Stanford University
2023 - Stanford University

Margaret Levi is professor of political science and Senior Fellow of the Center for Democracy, Development and the Rule of Law. She is a faculty fellow and former Sara Miller McCune Director of the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences (CASBS), co-director of the Stanford Ethics, Society, and Technology Hub, and Senior Fellow at the Woods Institute for the Environment, Stanford University. She is the winner of the 2019 Johan Skytte Prize and the 2020 Falling Walls Breakthrough award. She is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the British Academy, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, and served as president of the American Political Science Association. Recent books include In the Interest of Others (Princeton University Press, 2013), coauthored with John Ahlquist, and A Moral Political Economy: Present, Past, Future (Cambridge University Press, 2021), coauthored with Federica Carugati. She writes about what makes for trustworthy governance and what evokes citizen compliance, consent, and dissent. As a faculty fellow, Levi will help manage the “Social Science of Caregiving” with Alison Gopnik and the enCOREage project, whose leadership team also includes Simon Halliday, Wendy Carlin, Roby Harrington, and Samuel Bowles. She is co-leader with Michael Bernstein, David Magnus, and Debra Satz of the Ethics and Society Review project. Levi was a fellow at CASBS in 1993-94.