Skip to content Skip to navigation

Awards and Elections, Fall 2018

Nov 10 2018

Posted In:


Congratulations to members of the CASBS community for earning these high honors!


Shahzeen Attari

Carnegie Corporation, 2018 Andrew Carnegie Fellowships

Shahzeen Attari (2017-18)

Beth Simmons (2002-03)


American Economic Association, 2018 Distinguished Fellows

Jesse Ribot

Henry Aaron (CASBS fellow 1996-97)

Joel Mokyr (2001-02)


John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, 2018 Guggenheim Fellowships

Peter Hall (1992-93)

Jesse Ribot (2016-17)

Mariano-Florentino Cuéllar

Robert Sampson (1997-98, 2002-03)


American Academy of Arts & Sciences, 2018 Elected Members

John R. Bowen (1995-96)

Mariano-Florentino Cuéllar (current chair, CASBS board of directors)

Christian Davenport (2008-09)

Gloria Ladson-Billings

Steven Feierman (2004-05)

Paula Findlen (2007-08)

Gary Alan Fine (1994-95, 2010-11)

Jennifer Hornsby (1985-86)

Gabor Klaniczay (2003-04)

Gloria Ladson-Billings (2003-04)

Debra Satz

Tali Mendelberg (2005-06)

Nancy L. Rose (1993-94)

Debra Satz (2017-18)

Paul H. Wise (visiting scholar, 2013-14)

American Philosophical Society, 2018 Elected Members

Sara Miller McCune

Karen Cook (1998-99)

Margaret Levi (1993-94; current director, CASBS)

Sara Miller McCune (current member, CASBS board of directors)


National Academy of Sciences, 2018 Elected Members

Orley Ashenfelter (1989-90)

Raj Chetty (faculty fellow, 2017-18)

Raj Chetty

Paula England (2005-06)

Richard Thaler (1997-98)


Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, 2018 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel (Nobel Prize)

Paul Romer (1989-90)


Paul Romer


Related article: "Three Stanford scholars elected to the American Philosophical Society" (Stanford News).

Video: Watch CASBS board chair and CA Supreme Court justice Mariano-Florentino Cuéllar's American Academy of Arts & Sciences induction speech. The speech's anchor is Albert Hirschman's Exit, Voice, and Loyalty -- written at CASBS while Hirschman was a fellow here in 1968-69.