Skip to content Skip to navigation

Eleven Former Fellows Elected to AAAS

Apr 22 2016

Posted In:


On April 20, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS) announced the election of 213 new members. They include some of the world’s most accomplished scholars, scientists, artists, and writers worldwide. Among the new members are 11 former CASBS fellows:

Michelene T.H. Chi (CASBS class of 1996-97)

Fergus I.M. Craik (1982-83) – foreign honorary AAAS member

Jennifer Eberhardt (2005-06) – current member of CASBS board of directors

Gerd Gigerenzer (1989-90) – foreign honorary AAAS member

Sander L. Gilman (1996-97)

Robin D.G. Kelley (1997-98)

Melvin Konner (1986-87)

Carol D. Lee (2004-05)

John T. Monahan (1989-90)

David Nirenberg (2000-01)

Elke U. Weber (1992-93)

These 11 new AAAS member are among 148 fellows throughout CASBS history who earned this honor after their fellowship year.

Founded in 1780, AAAS is one of the country’s oldest learned societies and independent policy research centers, convening leaders from the academic, business, and government sectors to respond to the challenges facing global society. Current AAAS research focuses on higher education, the humanities, and the arts; science and technology policy; global security and energy; and American institutions and the public good. Learn more about the history of AAAS here.

The Academy’s work is advanced by its elected members, who are leaders in the academic disciplines, the arts, business, and public affairs from around the world.

The new AAAS member will be inducted at a ceremony on October 8, 2016, in Cambridge, Massachusetts.