Skip to content Skip to navigation

Three Former Fellows Elected to NAS

May 11 2016

Posted In:


In a May 3 press release, the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) announced the election of 84 new members in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Three former CASBS fellows are among them: Jennifer Eberhardt (CASBS fellow 2005-06), Hazel Markus (1980-81, 1995-96, 2008-09), and Susan Murphy (2007-08). More than 200 CASBS fellows have been elected to the NAS since the Center’s inception in 1954.

Coincidentally, Eberhardt and Markus are based at Stanford University’s psychology department. Markus is the Davis-Brack Professor in the Behavioral Sciences and a rare CASBS three-time fellow, while Eberhardt is associate professor of psychology. Both are faculty directors of Stanford’s Social Psychological Answers to Real-World Questions (SPARQ) initiative. The election of both were announced by Stanford in a May 4 news release.

Eberhardt, in addition, is a member of the CASBS board of directors.

Susan Murphy, based at the University of Michigan, is the Herbert E. Robbins Distinguished University Professor of Statistics in the College of Literature, Science, and the Arts; research professor at the Institute for Social Research; and professor of psychiatry at the Medical School. The Univ. of Michigan announced Murphy’s election in a May 6 news release.

NAS membership is a widely accepted mark of excellence in science and is considered one of the highest honors that a scholar can receive. The newly elected bring the total number of NAS members to 2,291.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and -- with the National Academy of Engineering and National Academy of Medicine -- provides science, technology, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

The new members will be inducted formally in April 2017 during the academy’s 154th annual meeting in Washington, D.C.