Skip to content Skip to navigation

CASBS Announces Latest Board Members

Dec 4 2015

Posted In:


The Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences (CASBS) added four members to its board of directors during 2015. The group brings an impressive diversity of accomplishments, experience, and talents, reflecting the Center’s spirit of interdisciplinary collaboration in social and behavioral sciences research that advances knowledge and applies it to pressing contemporary issues.

The new board members are:

Jeffrey L. Bleich, a partner leading the global practice for Munger, Tolles, & Olson LLP. From 2009-2013 he served as United States Ambassador to Australia, and before that as special counsel to President Obama. He also serves on the Fulbright Board and on California’s International Trade and Investment Council, and advises the Administration on cyber-security and countering violent extremism.

Mariano-Florentino Cuéllar, an Associate Justice on the California Supreme Court and a visiting professor at Stanford Law School. He has extensive experience in public service, university administration, and legal academia. Before joining the judiciary this year, he was the Stanley Morrison Professor of Law and professor (by courtesy) of political science at Stanford from 2001-2015 and Director of Stanford’s Freeman Spogli Institute (FSI).

Alan J. Lacy, the former CEO of Sears Holding Corporation and Sears, Roebuck and Co. He is a trustee of the California chapter of The Nature Conservancy, a member of the advisory board of the Big Sur Land Trust, and former chairman of the National Parks Conservation Association.

Heather Munroe-Blum, Principal (President) Emerita of McGill University in Canada and a current member of McGill’s Faculty of Medicine. A renowned scholar in the field of psychiatric epidemiology, she was a CASBS fellow in 2013-2014. She is an Officer of the Order of Canada, an Officer of the Order of Québec, and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.  She also is Chairperson of the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board.

The CASBS board also added four stellar members in 2014, including Silicon Valley luminary John Seely Brown; Google Emeritus Shona Brown; Stanford associate professor, McArthur foundation fellow, and former CASBS fellow Jennifer Eberhardt; and Josiah Ober, another former CASBS fellow and Mitsotakis Professor of Political Science and Classics at Stanford.

Margaret Levi, Director of CASBS and Stanford professor of political science, notes, “I am thrilled at what an extraordinary set of people have agreed to join the board.  They share my commitment to cutting edge, interdisciplinary, and transformative social science, and they bring to the table the intellectual and strategic resources that will enable CASBS to meet its ambitious goals.”

View the Center’s full list of board members and read extended biographies.


Related Articles

CASBS Board Member Named 2014 MacArthur Foundation Fellow

CASBS Board Member Wins Two Presigious Awards