Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation
Main content start

CASBS Announces 2024-25 Fellows

The Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences (CASBS) at Stanford University is pleased to announce its 2024-25 fellows class, comprised of 35 scholars and practitioners representing 14 U.S. institutions and 12 international institutions and programs.

Members of the 2024-25 class conduct research in a variety of fields in the social and behavioral sciences and cognate disciplines, including anthropology, archaeology, business, communication, economics, geography, history, language and literature, law, medicine, political science, psychology, and sociology.

Five fellows are Stanford faculty: Mark Algee-Hewitt (language and literature), Alia Crum (psychology), Thomas Blom Hansen (anthropology), Anne Joseph O’Connell (law), and Shirin Sinnar (law).

The 2024-25 class will arrive in early September and immediately take full advantage of a new building in the CASBS landscape, the first erected on its campus since the Center opened in 1954. The building, dedicated and opened for business in November 2023, further deepens the Center’s acclaimed commitment to cross-disciplinary collaborations – and the fellows who engage in them.

“Our revitalized campus underscores the Center’s constant efforts to attract and nurture some of the most distinguished, dynamic thinkers working today in the social and behavioral sciences. Today’s pressing societal challenges and questions demand it,” said Sally Schroeder, CASBS’s deputy director. “Accordingly, we’re compelled to build upon – not just maintain – the legacy of excellence that our fellowship program has forged for 70 years. It’s evident to us that the 2024-25 class, as individual scholars and as a collective, will help advance that renowned legacy to a new level.”

The Center will post biographical sketches of the fellows, including descriptions of CASBS year research projects, in August. In addition, it is possible that additional fellows will join the roster in the coming months.

Several fellows are funded by some of the Center’s partner fellowship programs. Notably, under an agreement with the Korea Foundation for Advanced Studies signed in 2023, the Center will welcome its inaugural CASBS-KFAS Fellow (Hyeonho Hahm).

Under a new partnership with the VMWare Women's Leadership Innovation Lab at Stanford University, the Center will host its inaugural Women's Leadership Innovation Fellow (Katherine A. DeCelles). 

The Science and Technology Policy Research and Information Center (STPI) within the National Applied Research Laboratories of Taiwan (NARLabs), a federal government agency, will support one Stanford-Taiwan Social Science fellows (Pei-Chia Lan). This is the seventh year of one or more fellows at CASBS under this partnership. For the sixth consecutive year, the Chinese University of Hong Kong will support at least one CUHK-Stanford University CASBS fellow (Weng Cheong Lam). This is the fifth year the National University of Singapore will support at least one NUS Fellow (two in 2024-25; Seung-joon Lee and Ya Hui Michelle See). The Center will host its fourth STIAS-Iso Lomso fellow (Asanda Benya) based on an ongoing collaboration with the Stellenbosch Institute for Advanced Study, South Africa.

And one fellow will be in residence as part of CASBS’s longstanding association with the William T. Grant Scholars Program (Ann Owens).

In addition to fellows, the Center has three other appointment designations: visiting scholars (academics who are spouses/partners of fellows), research affiliates (non-Stanford scholars who lead CASBS-based research projects), and faculty fellows (Stanford faculty who lead CASBS-based research projects). The Center will finalize these appointments by late spring or summer.

The 2024-25 Class:

Gani AldashevEconomicsUniversite Libre de Bruxelles
Mark Algee-HewittLanguage and LiteratureStanford University
Asanda-Jonas BenyaSociologyUniversity of Cape Town
Rachel BrulePolitical ScienceBoston University
Angelina ChinHistoryPomona College
Dylan ConnorGeographyArizona State University
Gregoire CroidieuBusinessEmlyon Business School
Alia CrumPsychologyStanford University
Katherine A. DeCellesBusinessUniversity of Toronto
Alan Shane DillinghamHistoryArizona State University
Maureen A. EgerSociologyUmeå University
Alice FarmerLawUnited Nations
Noam GidronPolitical ScienceHebrew University of Jerusalem
Aaron GlantzCommunicationThe Fuller Project for International Reporting
Hyeonho HahmPolitical ScienceHanyang University
Thomas Blom HansenAnthropologyStanford University
Camilla HawthorneGeographyUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Matthew HullAnthropologyUniversity of Michigan
Weng Cheong LamAnthropological ArcheologyChinese University of Hong Kong
Pei-Chia LanSociologyNational Taiwan University
Seth LandefeldMedicineUniversity of Alabama at Birmingham
Armando Lara-MillanSociologyUniversity of California, Berkeley
Seung-joon LeeHistoryNational University of Singapore
Katerina LinosLawUniversity of California, Berkeley
Thomas LyonEconomicsUniversity of Michigan
Devorah ManekinPolitical ScienceHebrew University of Jerusalem
A. Wren MontgomeryBusinessWestern University
Anne Joseph O'ConnellLawStanford University
Ann OwensSociologyUniversity of Southern California
Carrie A. RentschlerCommunicationMcGill University
Ya Hui Michelle SeePsychologyNational University of Singapore
Shirin SinnarLawStanford University
Jas SullivanPolitical ScienceLouisiana State University
Stephanie WangEconomicsUniversity of Pittsburgh
Anne L. WashingtonBusinessNew York University


More News Topics